Philippines regular holidays, special non-working days in 2017

Malacañang has announced the regular holidays and special non-working days in the Philippines in 2017. View the complete list on this page.

The following are declared regular holidays under Proclamation 50:
  • New Year's Day- January 1 (Sunday)
  • Araw ng Kagitingan - April 9 (Sunday)
  • Maundy Thursday - April 13
  • Good Friday - April 14
  • Labor Day- May 1 (Monday)
  • Independence Day- June 12 (Monday)
  • National Heroes Day- August 28 (Monday)
  • Bonifacio Day- November 30 (Thursday)
  • Christmas Day- December 25 (Monday)
  • Rizal Day- December 30 (Saturday)

These are the the special non-working days:
  • Chinese New Year - January 28 (Saturday)
  • EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary- February 25 (Saturday)
  • Black Saturday - April 15
  • Ninoy Aquino Day- August 21 (Monday)
  • All Saints Day- November 1 (Wednesday)
  • Last Day of the Year- December 31 (Sunday)
  • Additional special (non-working day)- October 31 (Tuesday)

October 31st, a Tuesday, is the eve of All Saints' Day.

The Palace said the additional special non-working day "will strengthen family ties by providing more time for the traditional All Saints' Day commemorative activities, and will promote domestic tourism as well."

Malacañang also justified the proclamation of other holidays.

"Chinese New Year, which is one of the most revered and festive events celebrated not only in China but also in the Philippines, and such date may be declared as a special non-working day without detriment to public interest," the Palace said in the proclamation.

"Whereas on 25 February 2017, the country will commemorate the 31st anniversary of the EDSA People Power Revolution, which restored and ushered political, social and economic reforms in the country," it added.