After Mamasapano clash, Ateneo school to honor Deles, Ferrer, Iqbal

Xavier University, the Ateneo school in Cagayan de Oro City, is set to honor Secretary Ging Deles, Miriam Coronel-Ferrer, and Mohagher Iqbal.

A banner on the school's website shows that an an Honorary Doctorate will be given to Secretary Teresita Quinto-Deles of the Office of the Presidential Adviser for the Peace Process (OPAPP).

She will also be the Commencement Speaker during the graduation exercises of Class 2015.

Ferrer, Chair of the GPH Panel in talks with the Moro Islamic Liberation Front, and Iqbal, Chair of the MILF Peace Panel and Bangsamoro Transition Commission, will both receive the Fr. William F. Masterson SJ Award for "contributions to social development."

All three are given recognition "for their conscientious and patient efforts to engage in democratic dialogue and negotiations for peace in Mindanao," according to the XU website.

While this may raise eyebrows, a netizen said the commitment to make them the 2015 Commencement Awardees was given prior to the bloody Mamasapano clash between the PNP Special Action Force (SAF) and elements of the MILF as well as the Bangsamoro Islamic Freedom Fighters (BIFF) in Maguindanao last January 25.

Hat tip to Boss Ng Pilipinas blog