Viral Facebook 'Graph App' Privacy Setting Wall Post a Hoax

A Facebook “Graph App” privacy setting status message that’s spreading virally across timelines on the social networking site is hoax.

facebook

A few days ago, Mark Zuckerberg’s company rolled out Graph Search, a new feature that allows users to look up anything shared on Facebook.

At the same time, a misleading wall post instructing Facebook users to change their privacy settings to put comments and likes in private mode went viral.

It turned out that a similar status message has been circulating on Facebook since 2011. The old version was slightly revised to become tailored fit for the recently released Graph Search.

Here’s a sample of the falsely fabricated wall post:

Hello to all of you who are on my list of contacts in Facebook. I would like to ask a favor from you…. You may not know that Facebook has changed its privacy configuration once again. Thanks to the new “Graphic app”, any person in Facebook anywhere in the world can see our photos, our “likes” and our “comments”. During the next two weeks, I am going to keep this message posted and I would like to ask you to do the following and comment “DONE”.

Those of my friends who do not maintain my information in private will be eliminated from my list of friends, because I want the information I share with you, my friends, to remain among my friends and not be available to the whole world. I want to be able to publish photos of my friends and family without strangers being able to see them which is what happens now when you choose “like” or “comment”.

Unfortunately we cannot change this configuration because Facebook has made it like this. So, please, place your cursor over my photo that appears in this box (without clicking) and a window will open. Now move the cursor to the word “Friends”, again without clicking and then on “Settings”. Uncheck “Life Events” and “Comments and Like”. This way my activity with my family and friends will no longer be made public. Now, copy and paste this text on your own wall (do not “share” it!). Once I see it published on your page, I will un-check the same for you. Thanks so much.

Those who followed the instruction complained that the configuration change led to the removal of their friends’ comments and likes from their timeline.

Experts advised users to mark as spam and delete the Facebook “Graph App” privacy settings wall post immediately to prevent more people from getting deceived.