2012 Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines (TOSP awardees) named

The national level awardees of the 2012 Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines (TOSP) were announced at the Heroes Hall of MalacaƱang on Thursday, August 2, 2012.

This year, around 243 entries were submitted for regional screening, 87 of which were screened by the the national screening assembly composed of notable men and women from the academe, business, health, and IT.

Out of the 30 national finalists, 10 received the 2012 TOSP awards:
  • Kenneth Isaiah Ibasco Abante - Ateneo de Manila University
  • Angelita Adajar Bombarda - De La Salle University
  • Jerome Ven David - De La Salle University
  • John Michael Flores Dellariarte - Ateneo de Zamboanga Univ.
  • Daniel Philip Villaranda Dy - Ateneo de Naga Univ.
  • Jay-R Mesa Mendoza - Univ. of Rizal System-Morong Campus
  • Ruthell Angusto Moreno - West Visayas State University
  • Maria Janua Bacolod Polinar - Central Mindanao University
  • Kurt Gerrard Tiu See - De La Salle University-Manila
  • Juan Carlo Pe Tejano- the University of the Philippines-Diliman
President Benigno Aquino III graced the occasion. In his speech, the Chief Executive called on the youth to “remain committed to initiating and inspiring endeavors for the country’s progress.”

President Aquino also congratulated the 30 finalists namely Kenneth Isaiah I. Abante, Michael Angelo M. Abarcar, Jufran C. Agustin, Randell T. Aranza, Ramon Matthew R. Basabe, Nesie Fe G. Binatero, Angelita A. Bombarda, Ma. Clarissa Lavena A. Bombase, Bobby S. Caceres, Aliza B. Castro, Jerome V. David, Lawrence Charlemagne G. David, John Michael FL. Dellariarte, Joshua Eleazar P. Domen, Daniel Philip V. Dy, Marville Cullen P. Espago, Cesar E. Higoy, Benny Mart R. Hiwatig, Ma. Shiril A. Jalad-Armero, Ridwan N. Landasan, Jay-R M. Mendoza, Ruthell A. Moreno, Reynaldo G. Nalliw, Maria Janua B. Polinar, Danilo V. Rogayan, Jr., Kurt Gerrard T. See, Mitz S. Serofia, Michiko S. Takemori, Juan Carlo P. Tejano, and Mark Gil D. Tuazon.

The TOSP recognizes the best students through the auspices of RFM Foundation, Inc. in cooperation with the Commission on Higher Education (CHEd) and National Bookstore among others.

The TOSP was established on June 19, 1961 by businessman Jose Concepcion Jr. in time for the centennial birth anniversary of national hero Dr. Jose P. Rizal.