CBCP Elects New Leaders Amid 'Pajero Bishops' Scandal

In the middle of the so-called 'Pajero Bishops' controversy that's hounding them, the Catholic Bishops Conference of the Philippines (CBCP) has elected its new leaders during a meeting at the Pope Pius XII Catholic Center in Manila on Saturday, July 9th.

CBCP LogoCebu Archbishop Jose Palma, the current vice president of the bishops’ collegial body, was elected as CBCP President filling in for Tandag Bishop Nereo Odchimar who has decided to vacate the CBCP's highest post for health reasons and difficulty to travel, reports said.

Newly-elected CBCP Officers:
  • President: Archbishop Jose Palma (Cebu)
  • Vice President: Archbishop Socrates Villegas (Lingayen-Dagupan).
  • Treasurer: Bishop John Du (Dumaguete)
  • Secretary General: Msgr. Joselito Asis
  • Regional Representatives for CBCP Permanent Council: (Luzon) Archbishop Sergio Utleg, Bishops Virgilio David, Arturo Bastes, Francisco de Leon, and Reynaldo Evangelista; (Visayas) Bishops Leonardo Medroso and Patricio Buzon; (Mindanao) Bishops Antonieto Cabajog and Guillermo Afable.
The CBCP in a press conference Monday morning announced the results of its own probe on the 'Pajero Bishops' scandal. In its official statement, the CBCP confirmed that the vehicles were received and accepted with the good of the public in mind.