16 Towns can be declared as Cities, SC rules with finality — Source

After reversing its decision on the issue thrice since 2008, the Supreme Court (SC) on Tuesday ruled with finality that 16 towns can be declared as cities without complying with the P100-million annual income requirement imposed by the Local Government Code (LGC), reports GMA News on Tuesday.

Majority of SC justices denied with finality the appeal of the League of Cities of the Philippines (LCP), which is seeking to block the conversion of the towns into cities, according to an SC official who spoke on the condition of anonymity, the report said.


Supreme Court of Philippines
A denial of the appeal of the LCP, apparently, is equivalent to a ruling on the finality of the High Tribunal’s February 2011 decision that the 16 cities can stay as cities.

The hint, based on the report, is that the Rules of Court prohibit the filing of second motions for reconsideration once a ruling becomes final. It said, Section 5, Rule 27 states that:
“No party shall be allowed a second motion for reconsideration of a judgment or final order.”
Related story: League of Cities loses case in High Court

Congratulations to the people and LGUs of the following:
  1. Lamitan City (Basilan);
  2. Baybay City (Leyte);
  3. Bogo City (Cebu);
  4. Catbalogan City (Samar);
  5. Tandag City (Surigao del Sur);
  6. Borongan City (Samar);
  7. Tayabas City (Quezon);
  8. Tabuk City (Kalinga);
  9. Bayugan City (Agusan del Sur);
  10. Batac City (Ilocos Norte);
  11. Mati City (Davao Oriental);
  12. Guihulngan City (Negros Oriental);
  13. Cabadbaran City (Agusan del Norte);
  14. El Salvador City (Misamis Oriental);
  15. Carcar City (Cebu); and
  16. Naga City (Cebu).