How to Disable Yahoo Messenger Conversation History

Earlier, I had a post about the newly-released Yahoo Messenger 11 Beta. The test version allows you to link your social networking accounts and lets you play social games from within the client, which is cool I think. But there's one feature that I don't like at all — the Conversation History.

After a fresh install, a notification window will inform you that Yahoo Messenger, starting with this Beta, by default “now stores a history of your conversations and calls online” thus enabling you to access your conversation history from any computer.

Yahoo Messenger Beta
Yahoo Messenger Beta
Yahoo Messenger Beta
It violates privacy, doesn't it? What if you haven't deleted or cleared up your important messages and your account gets hacked by cyber criminals or accessed by other people in the internet shop. It will be the end of the world.

To prevent that from happening, you need to disable the Yahoo Messenger Conversation History feature before engaging into an online conversation or call.

Here's how:
  1. Go to Messenger menu > Preferences > Conversation History;
  2. Click/mark “Do not keep a history of my conversations;”
  3. Click Apply for the change to take effect and then click OK to close.
Start using your Yahoo Messenger privately, safely.

Yahoo Messenger Conversation History
Yahoo Messenger Conversation History