Comelec Proclaims 9 Senators

The Commission on Elections (COMELEC) on Saturday proclaimed nine (9) senatorial candidates as winners in the national level of the 2010 elections, the Philippine's first automated polls. Well, they are newly-elected but not actually new in the political arena.

Comelec LogoProclaimed were senators Bong Revilla, Jinggoy Estrada, Juan Ponce Enrile, Pia Cayetano, Tito Sotto and Ralph Recto. Senator-elect Miriam Defensor-Santiago, Frank Drilon as well as Bongbong Marcos were not present.

According to news reports, the COMELEC acting as the National Board of Canvassers decided to proclaim the 9 senatoriables since they are already clear winners. 115 out of 274 or 42% of the certificates of canvass (CoC) received were already processed as of May 15, 2010.