Supreme Court Upholds Creation of 16 New Cities

The Supreme Court reversed its own ruling last year on the citihood laws converting sixteen (16) municipalities into cities. Here is the list of 16 new cities in the Philippines as of December 23, 2009.

As the SC okays 16 new cities, the 16 newly created cities in the Philippines which were converted by virtue of republic acts are:
  1. Baybay City (Leyte) via RA 9389
  2. Bogo City (Cebu) via RA 9390
  3. Catbalogan City (Samar) via RA 9391
  4. Tandag City (Surigao del Sur) via RA 9392
  5. Lamitan City (Basilan) via RA 9393
  6. Borongan City (Samar) via RA 9394
  7. Tayabas City (Quezon) via RA 9398
  8. Tabuk City (Kalinga) via RA 9404
  9. Bayugan City (Agusan del Sur) via RA 9405
  10. Batac City (Ilocos Norte) via RA 9407
  11. City of Mati (Davao Oriental) via RA 9408
  12. Guihulngan City (Negros Oriental) via RA 9409
  13. Cabadbaran City (Agusan del Norte) via RA 9434
  14. El Salvador City (Misamis Oriental) via RA 9435
  15. Carcar City (Cebu) via RA 9436
  16. Naga City (Cebu) via RA 9491
This has increased the number of cities in the Philippines to 185.


In its latest ruling, the SC said:
Respondent municipalities and the 33 other cities, which had already been elevated to city status, were all found to be qualified under the old Section 450 of the Local Government Code of 1991 during the 11th Congress.

As such, both respondent LGUs [local government units] and the 33 other former municipalities are under like circumstances and conditions. There is, thus, no rhyme or reason why an exemption from the P100-million requirement cannot be given to the respondent LGUs.
For the complete details of the Supreme Court ruling, click here.