DOH List of Drugs with Price Reduction

Health Secretary Francisco T. Duque III announced the list of drugs that will be subjected to 50% voluntary price reduction starting August 15, 2009. The list includes sixteen drug molecules (or 41 drug preparations).

These drugs were proposed by various multinational drug companies as an offshoot of the initial meeting and consultation with President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo last July 8, 2009.

These medicines are indicated against hypertension, diabetes, influenza, hypercholesterolemia, cancer, arthritis, goiter, allergies and infections.

The drugs were selected on the basis of their impact in addressing diseases which are of great public health importance in the country, their high price differentials compared to drug prices internationally, lack of market access particularly for the poor and limited competition with their generic counterparts. Source: Department of Health

PDF file courtesy of ABS-CBN News Online

Update: President Arroyo signed Executive Order 821

EO 821 imposes a mandatory 50 percent price cut on five kinds of medicine, as follows:

1. Amlodipine (Anti-hypertensive)
2. Atorvastatin (Anti-cholesterol)
3. Azithromycin (Anti-bacterial/anti-biotic)
4. Cytarabine (Anti-neoplastic/anti-cancer)
5. Dosorubicin and all its salt form (Anti-neoplastic/anti-cancer)
  • Price cut starts August 15; full implementation on September 15.
  • Applies to all retail outlets such as drugstores, hospital pharmacies, health maintenance organizations, convenience stores and supermarkets.
  • EO 821 also applies to all government entities involved in the procurement of the listed drugs as well as the government corporations that reimburse the cost of the said drugs purchased by qualified members.